Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Top 5 problems when starting a small business.

Top 5 problems when starting a small business. 13 years 3 months ago #738

• MarkHorwell
  • MSB Junior Member
Hey Everyone.

I'm quite new to the entrepreneurship thing and having been thinking about starting a new business. Before I start going down a path that could end in disaster I thought it may be a good idea to ask some seasoned pros for some advice.

If you had to make a list of the top 5 things to watch out for when starting a new business what would you put on the list?

I look forward to seeing your responses.

Regards
Mark
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Top 5 problems when starting a small business. 13 years 3 months ago #743

Hi MHorwell,

Well you’ve started by doing one of the most important things and that ask for advice!!!
In other words do as much research on the kind of business it is that you want to start. Find out what is actually involved in running that kind of business.
For me for example it’s not just sit down and knit a little top that looks good.
• I need to source the cotton,
• Get it to my work place!
• Store it as I can only have it spun in batches of 2 tones
( that’s a lot of space! )
• Actually manufacture it with buttons, zips and dingily dangly things that I need to be able to re-order again and again.

Then there is the whole marketing side which also needs a lot of work. Deciding how you want to be seen.. Who is your target, how will you reach them. How much time you have!

Working for your self is far, far more work than being employed.